How To Become A Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Technology190 Views

In the rapidly evolving world of cybersecurity, professionals who can safeguard information systems are in high demand. The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification, administered by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium (ISC)², is a globally recognized credential that represents top-tier expertise in information security. Earning the CISSP certification can open doors to high-level cybersecurity roles and signify a significant milestone in your professional journey. Here’s how you can achieve this prestigious certification.

Understanding CISSP

Before diving into the certification process, it’s crucial to understand what CISSP is and the professional responsibility it entails. CISSP certification is designed for experienced security practitioners, managers, and executives interested in proving their knowledge across a wide array of security practices and principles. It covers eight domains of information security:

  1. Security and Risk Management

  2. Asset Security

  3. Security Architecture and Engineering

  4. Communication and Network Security

  5. Identity and Access Management (IAM)

  6. Security Assessment and Testing

  7. Security Operations

  8. Software Development Security

Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for the CISSP certification, candidates must have a minimum of five years of cumulative, paid work experience in two or more of the eight domains of the CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). A four-year college degree, a regional equivalent, or an additional credential from the (ISC)² approved list can satisfy one year of the required experience.

Step-by-Step Guide to Getting Your CISSP Certification

Step 1: Ensure You Meet the Eligibility Requirements

Before starting your journey, confirm that you meet the necessary experience requirements. If you’re short on experience, don’t fret—you can become an Associate of (ISC)² by passing the CISSP exam. This designation gives you six years to acquire the required experience.

Step 2: Study for the Exam


Many candidates choose the self-study route. To begin, obtain the official (ISC)² CISSP study guide and explore other recommended resources. Develop a study plan that covers all eight domains, allowing more time for areas where you might be less experienced.

Training Courses

If you prefer structured learning, consider enrolling in a CISSP preparation course. (ISC)² and other reputable organizations offer in-person and online classes. These courses are led by certified instructors and provide an interactive way to comprehend the material.

Step 3: Register for the Exam

Once you’re ready, schedule your exam through the Pearson VUE website, the official testing partner of (ISC)². Exams are available year-round, providing the flexibility to choose a date and location that suits you best.

Step 4: Pass the Exam

The CISSP exam is a rigorous, 3-hour test comprising 100 to 150 multiple choice questions and advanced innovative questions. You’ll need a score of 700 out of 1000 points to pass. The exam covers all eight domains, so comprehensive understanding and preparation are crucial.

Step 5: Endorsement Process

After passing the exam, you must complete the endorsement process. You’ll need to be endorsed by an (ISC)² certified professional who can attest to your professional experience and good character. If you don’t know a CISSP, (ISC)² can act as your endorser.

Submit Your Professional Experience

As part of the endorsement process, you’ll submit proof of your work experience in the information security field. Ensure your documentation clearly shows you’ve worked in at least two of the CISSP domains.

Agree to the (ISC)² Code of Ethics

Candidates must agree to abide by the (ISC)² Code of Ethics. Violating these ethics can lead to certification revocation.

Step 6: Maintain Your Certification

CISSP certification needs to be renewed every three years. To maintain your certification, you must earn and submit a minimum of 120 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits during this period and pay the annual maintenance fee. Earning CPE credits can involve activities like attending conferences, taking part in webinars, or even teaching security-related courses.

Earning the CISSP is a challenging but rewarding pursuit. It’s not just about passing an exam—it’s about proving your dedication and capability in the field of information security. With a CISSP certification, you will not only increase your job prospects and potential salary but also join an elite group of security professionals dedicated to protecting the integrity of information systems worldwide.

Final Thoughts

The journey to becoming a CISSP may seem daunting, but with the right preparation and dedication, it’s well within reach. As the cybersecurity landscape continues to evolve, the demand for skilled and certified professionals will only grow. Whether you’re just starting your career or are a seasoned professional, CISSP certification can be a valuable asset to enhance your career trajectory and contribute significantly to the security field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *